Music: Friedrich Gulda (piano) George Szell (conductor) - Enperor Konzert Es Dur Op. 73 - Ludwig van Beethoven - Wiener Festwochen - Links

Posted by ricardo marcenaro | Posted in | Posted on 18:56

Friedrich Gulda

George Szell


Friedrich Gulda (piano) George Szell (conductor) - Beethoven


The Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 73, by Ludwig van Beethoven, popularly known as the Emperor Concerto, was his last piano concerto. It was written between 1809 and 1811 in Vienna, and was dedicated to Archduke Rudolf, Beethoven's patron and pupil. The first performance took place on 28 November 1811 at the Gewandhaus in Leipzig, the soloist being Friedrich Schneider. In 1812, Carl Czerny, another student of Beethoven's, gave the Vienna debut of this work.

The epithet of Emperor for this concerto was not Beethoven's own but was coined by Johann Baptist Cramer, the English publisher of the concerto.[1] Its duration is approximately forty minutes.

The concerto is scored for a solo piano, two flutes, two oboes, two clarinets in B-flat (clarinet I playing clarinet in A in movement 2), two bassoons, two horns, two trumpets, timpani in E-flat and B-flat, and strings.


The concerto is divided into three movements:

    Allegro in E-flat major
    Adagio un poco mosso in B major
    Rondo: Allegro ma non troppo in E-flat major

As with Beethoven's other concertos from this time period, this work has a relatively long first movement. (At twenty-five minutes, the Violin Concerto has the longest; Piano Concerto Nos. 4 and 5 each have opening movements of about twenty minutes.)



El concierto para piano n.º 5 en mi bemol mayor, op. 73, conocido popularmente como El Emperador, fue el último concierto para piano del compositor Ludwig van Beethoven. Fue escrito entre 1809 y 1811 en Viena y está dedicado a Rodolfo de Austria, protector y pupilo de Beethoven. Fue estrenado el 28 de noviembre de 1811 en la Gewandhaus de Leipzig. En 1812 Carl Czerny, alumno del compositor, estrenó la obra en Viena.


Music: Friedrich Gulda (piano) George Szell (conductor) - Enperor Konzert Es Dur Op. 73 - Ludwig van Beethoven - Wiener Festwochen - Links

Ricardo M Marcenaro - Facebook

Blogs of The Solitary Dog:

Solitary Dog Sculptor:
Solitary Dog Sculptor I:

comunicarse conmigo,
enviar materiales para publicar,
propuestas comerciales:
contact me,
submit materials for publication,
commercial proposals:

Diario La Nación
Cuenta Comentarista en el Foro:

My blogs are an open house to all cultures, religions and countries. Be a follower if you like it, with this action you are building a new culture of tolerance, open mind and heart for peace, love and human respect.

Thanks :)

Mis blogs son una casa abierta a todas las culturas, religiones y países. Se un seguidor si quieres, con esta acción usted está construyendo una nueva cultura de la tolerancia, la mente y el corazón abiertos para la paz, el amor y el respeto humano.

Gracias :)

Comments (0)

Publicar un comentario