Music: Camille Saint-Saens - Piano Concerto No. 2 - Arthur Rubinstein - 2 Vids - Data

Posted by Ricardo Marcenaro | Posted in | Posted on 20:34

Camille Saint-Saëns

Rubinstein - Saint-Saëns - Piano Concerto No.2 - Part 1 of 2 HD

 Arthur Rubinstein

The Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 22 by Camille Saint-Saëns, was composed in 1868 and is probably Saint-Saëns' most popular piano concerto. It was dedicated to Madame A. de Villers née de Haber. At the première, the composer was the soloist and Anton Rubinstein conducted the orchestra. Saint-Saëns wrote the concerto in three weeks, and had very little time to prepare for the première; consequently, the piece was not initially successful. The capricious changes in style provoked Zygmunt Stojowski to quip that it "begins with Bach and ends with Offenbach."[1]


The piece follows the traditional form of three movements but allows for more freedom in tempo markings. Normally, the first movement is fast-paced, while the second is slower. However, the two are reversed in this piece. The concerto is scored for solo piano, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, timpani, crash cymbals and strings.

The movements in the concerto are:

    Andante sostenuto

        The concerto begins with a piano solo playing a long improvisational introduction in the style of a Bach fantasia. After the orchestra enters, the restless and melancholy first theme is played, again by the piano solo. Saint-Saëns drew the theme from his student Gabriel Fauré's abandoned Tantum ergo motet. A brief second theme appears, followed by a middle section of increasing degrees of animato. The main theme is recapitulated fortissimo and the soloist is given a long ad libitum cadenza. The Bach-like opening motif returns in the coda.

    Allegro scherzando

        The second movement is in E-flat major and, instead of being a typical adagio, resembles a scherzo. The mercurial piano part is marked leggieramente, and the two main themes are clever and light-hearted. The energetic, delicate personality of this particular movement is characteristic of Saint-Saëns' musical wit, most famously observable in Le Carnaval des Animaux.


        The concerto concludes by returning to G minor. Like the preceding movement, it moves quickly; this time the form is an extremely fast, fiery tarantella in sonata form, featuring a strong triplet figure. At presto speed, the orchestra and soloist rush tumultuously along, gaining volume and momentum and finishing in a whirlwind of G minor arpeggios.

Rubinstein - Saint-Saëns - Piano Concerto No.2 - Part 2 of 2 HD

El concierto para piano n.º 2, en sol menor, op. 22, de Camille Saint-Saëns, fue compuesto en 1868 y es probablemente el más conocido de los conciertos del compositor. Está dedicado a Madame A. de Villers née de Haber. Fue estrenado el 13 de mayo del mismo año en la sala Pleyel de París, por el mismo compositor al piano y Antón Rubinstein en la dirección de la orquesta. Saint-Saëns compuso la obra en tres semanas y tuvo poco tiempo para preparar el estreno; consecuentemente, la pieza no fue inicialmente un éxito.

El concierto sigue la forma tradicional de tres movimientos, pero exhibe más libertad en la escogencia de los tempos. Normalmente, el primer movimiento suele ser rápido y el segundo lento, pero en este caso el orden se invierte.

La obra está orquestada para piano solo, 2 flautas, 2 oboes, 2 clarinetes, 2 fagotes, 2 trompas, 2 trompetas, tímpano, platillos y cuerdas. Sus movimientos son:

    Andante sostenuto
    Allegro scherzando

Music: Camille Saint-Saens - Piano Concerto No. 2 - Arthur Rubinstein - 2 Vids - Data

Ricardo M Marcenaro - Facebook

Blogs in operation of The Solitary Dog:
Solitary Dog Sculptor:
Solitary Dog Sculptor I:

comunicarse conmigo,
enviar materiales para publicar,
propuestas comerciales:
contact me,
submit materials for publication,
commercial proposals:

My blogs are an open house to all cultures, religions and countries. Be a follower if you like it, with this action you are building a new culture of tolerance, open mind and heart for peace, love and human respect.

Thanks :)

Mis blogs son una casa abierta a todas las culturas, religiones y países. Se un seguidor si quieres, con esta acción usted está construyendo una nueva cultura de la tolerancia, la mente y el corazón abiertos para la paz, el amor y el respeto humano.

Gracias :)

Comments (0)

Publicar un comentario